People-Planet-Health

Margaret Barry, IUHPE President

 

Join us at the project launch webinar
No Health without Planetary Health,”
on 13 July 2020, 3:00 p.m. CET,
with Dr Ruediger Krech, Director of Health Promotion at WHO, youth activists, and the project leads.

 

Click here and register for the webinar! (registration is free)

Program

Webinar time across the world: Seattle: 6:00 a.m. | Montréal: 9:00 am | London: 2:00 pm | Cairo: 3:00 pm |
Kampala: 4:00 pm | New Delhi: 6:30 pm | Beijing: 9:00 pm | Canberra: 11:00 pm

 

The project People-Planet-Health is led by the International Union of Health Promotion and Education (IUHPE), Lucerne University of Applied Arts and Sciences, University of Nottingham and the National University of Ireland Galway, and supported by the IC-program of Lucerne University of Applied Arts and Sciences, Switzerland.

At the IUHPE 2019 World Conference, in Aotearoa New Zealand, the IUHPE Rotorua statement was approved calling for urgent action to promote planetary health and sustainable development. Based on the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), we conceive of sustainable development as a creative process in and between different social and cultural contexts. This process has been initiated by grassroots activists across the world.

People-Planet-Health aims to collect, communicate and connect existing initiatives and projects in a “bottom-up”-process to give voice, visibility, support, network, and sustainability opportunities to local projects, initiatives, ideas, and groups that interconnect planetary health and health promotion. Thereby we are giving voice to local grass-root initiatives and activist-groups led by young people in the preparation of a position paper that will be part of the development of a new WHO Global Health Promotion Strategy. By linking young people globally to empower them to directly influence the future of planetary and human health, this project could provide a model for global participatory policy development.

Aim

Based on discussion of the de-privileging of human agency, the project aims to

  • Give voice, visibility, support, and network opportunities to local projects, initiatives, ideas, and groups that interconnect planetary health and health promotion.
  • Initiate a bottom-up process to write a position paper made by young people, activists of grassroots movements, and other local actors in planetary and human health.

Target groups

Individuals, groups, initiatives, organizations and networks of (young) people who are promoting planetary health through new ideas, activism, campaigning, research, or any other activity which connects population health to environmental sustainability and all who try to make a difference by activities with an impact on health and/or environmental sustainability.

Methods

Local actors participate in an interactive website based on a tag-cloud system (social bookmarking). Actors and groups will upload short stories or tags about their projects and initiatives that will serve as a basis for the position paper that will support the new WHO strategy.

Contact

For questions and suggestions please contact the project leads: Claudia Meier Magistretti, IUHPE Vice-President for Partnerships, Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., Jake Sallaway-Costello, University of Nottingham: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

 

Project launch webinar - “No Health without Planetary Health,” 13 July 2020, 3:00-3:45 p.m. CET.

Program:

The role of health promotion in planetary health

Dr. Rudiger Krech, Director, Health Promotion, World Health Organization

 

There is no health without planetary health: background and principles of the project                        

Prof. Dr. Claudia Meier Magistretti, IUHPE Vice-President for Partnership, Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts, Switzerland

 

Submit your voice: a guide to the People-Planet-Health website  

Jake Sallaway-Costello, Assistant Professor in Public Health Nutrition, University of Nottingham, UK

 

Why we contribute: statements of participants   

Winnie Apio, Programme Manager Sexual Reproductive Health Rights and Gender Uganda Youth and Adolescents Health Forum, UYAHF, Uganda

Jake Brown, Social Entrepeneur, The Real Junk Food Project Central, UK

Omnia El Omrani, International Federation of Medical Students’ Associations, Egypt

 

Questions and Answers                             

 

Closure and summary    

Dr. Rudiger Krech, Director, Health Promotion, World Health Organization

 

Click here and register for the webinar! (registration is free)